The initial educational part of the IAG Academy will be developed over the coming months, and will start with what we term “Learning Modules”, or more simply just “Modules”. A module will provide a small, distinct piece of information about the Asia-Pacific IR Industry. It will stand alone, but can be joined with other modules to form a greater body of information about the industry.

An example of a module is shown below. Watch this space and over the coming months more modules will be published by the IAG Academy. These modules will eventually become an incredibly useful resources for industry participants.


The IAG Academy defines APAC as the greater Asia Pacific coverage region, including the Middle East. This is the same as the IAG media coverage region. We define this to be approximately one-third of the globe, covering the area from the Middle East to the International Date Line.

The western edge of the region (from north to south) is the Ural Federal District of Russia, the Middle East, and then the 60 degree east longitude in the Indian Ocean, meaning that we cover the Maldives but not Mauritius.

We define the eastern edge of the greater Asia Pacific coverage region as the International Date Line, meaning APAC includes Vladivostok, Japan, New Zealand and the islands of the western Pacific.

There are only three countries which are partially in the region: Russia, the United States and France. For Russia, the region includes the easternmost three federal districts: Ural, Siberia and the Far East districts. This includes Vladivostok in the Primorye Gaming Zone and the Altai Gaming Zone nestled between Kazakhstan and Mongolia. For the US, the region covers territories in the Asia Pacific west of the International Date Line. The only such territories which are populated are the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Guam and Wake Island. Throughout these three territories, there is only one casino, in the CNMI. For France, the region covers the two French territories in the western Pacific: New Caledonia (which has two casinos — both in Noumea) and Wallis and Futana (which doesn’t).

The region is dominated, of course, by Macau. This is followed by the Philippines, Singapore and Australia. Other important markets are Cambodia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand and Vietnam. Both Laos and Russia have potential to grow as integrated resort markets.

The full list of countries in the region is below.

  • Southeast Asia (14)
    • Brunei
    • Cambodia
    • East Timor
    • Hong Kong
    • Indonesia
    • Laos
    • Macau
    • Malaysia
    • Myanmar
    • Palau
    • Philippines
    • Singapore
    • Thailand
    • Vietnam
  • Northeast Asia (6)
    • China (with Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan listed elsewhere)
    • Japan
    • Mongolia
    • North Korea
    • South Korea
    • Taiwan
  • South Asia (7)
    • Bangladesh
    • Bhutan
    • India
    • Maldives
    • Nepal
    • Pakistan
    • Sri Lanka
  • Central Asia (6)
    • Afghanistan
    • Kazakhstan
    • Kyrgyzstan
    • Tajikistan
    • Turkmenistan
    • Uzbekistan
  • Middle East (15)
    • Bahrain
    • Cyprus
    • Iran
    • Iraq
    • Israel
    • Jordan
    • Kuwait
    • Lebanon
    • Oman
    • Qatar
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Syria
    • Turkey
    • United Arab Emirates
    • Yemen
  • South Caucasus (3)
    • Armenia
    • Azerbaijan
    • Georgia
  • The Pacific (15)
    • Australia
    • Fiji
    • France (New Caledonia, Wallis and Futana only)
    • Kirabati
    • Marshall Islands
    • Micronesia
    • Nauru
    • New Zealand
    • Papua New Guinea
    • Samoa
    • Solomon Islands
    • Tonga
    • Tuvalu
    • United States of America (CNMI, Guam and Wake Island only)
    • Vanuatu
  • Russia (1) (Ural, Siberian and Far Eastern Federal Districts only)